Earlier the Police presence was maintained with a timber lock-up and adjoining residence (c.1844) for the Chief Constable on the site of the present courthouse.The barracks are a good example of the police buildings for that period.Inglis and Sons Stock Auctioneers in 1867 in Sydney. Inglis and Sons established a branch in Camden in the 1930's.Born at Heriot Cottage, Sussex Street, Sydney in 1833, he was the eldest son of Thomas and Catherine (Ross) Inglis who sailed for the Colony of NSW in 1829 from Scotland. The Inglis family has been and continues to be a presence in the community of Camden, including a strong involvement in the Camden Show.CAMDEN HISTORIC PLACES (These articles were written by Christine Robinson, January 2000 and last updated July 2012) Camden has a unique place in Australia's History.The town is home to many heritage listed attractions which reflect its links with the early settlement of the colony. A comprehensive Camden Heritage Walk Brochure produced by Camden Council can be picked up at the Museum or downloaded by clicking the link.Architect, John Verge, designed a mansion in the Palladian style with a central two-storey block with one-storey wings and extensions at each side. The house stands on 960 acres of the original 5,000 acres granted to John Macarthur in 1805.
The first Clerk of the Bench in the area was James Pearson who was Clerk at Cawdor until his death on 13 July 1841.
The family Burial Ground, carefully established over the decades, is located nearby and is the last resting-place of John Macarthur and his direct descendants.
Camden Police Station Camden Police Barracks were built in 1878.
The present building was commenced in 1855 and completed in 1857 with cells underneath and at the rear.
The building was designed during William Weaver's term as Government Architect.